2017 Canadian Certified Physician Executives

Dr. Bruce Douglas Cameron

Chief, Pathology Service, Georges Dumont Hospital; President, Moncton and District Medical Society; President, New Brunswick Association of Laboratory Physicians

Dieppe, NB


Dr. Ian Digby

Chief of Emergency Medicine, Guelph General Hospital

Guelph, ON


Dr. Kevin Hildebrand

Section Chief, Orthopaedic Surgery, and Professor, Department of Surgery, Cumming School of Medicine, University of Calgary and Alberta Health Services (AHS)

Calgary, AB


Dr. William Krizmanich

Chief, Department of Emergency Medicine, Hamilton Health Sciences; Emergency Department Physician Lead, HNHB LHIN

Hamilton, ON


Dr. William Sischek

Vice Chair, Governing Committee Academic Medical Organization of Southwestern Ontario; Site Chief Anesthesia & Perioperative Medicine – St. Joseph’s Health Care

London, ON


Dr. Preston Smith

Dean, College of Medicine, University of Saskatchewan; Vice-Provost Health, USask

Saskatoon, SK


Recognizing Physician Leadership —
A credential that will set you apart


The Canadian Certified Physician Executive (CCPE) designation is administered and governed jointly by Joule™, a CMA company, and the Canadian Society of Physician Leaders. The CCPE credential is the first nationally recognized, standards-based peer assessment for physicians in leadership.


CCPE is a valuable credential that can:


• Identify you as a physician leader

• Enhance your career options and position you for leadership roles

• Connect you with the physician leadership community

• Identify and encourage physicians interested in leading change in the health care system


To find out how to qualify or recertify, visit https://joule.cma.ca/en/learn/certification.html or contact the CCPE Secretariat at deirdre@physicianleaders.ca



Dr. Sharron Spicer

Medical Leader for Safety, Department of Pediatrics, Cumming School of Medicine, University of Calgary, Alberta Health Services; President, Calgary and Area Medical Staff Society

Calgary, AB


Dr. Dylan Taylor

Facility Medical Director, University of Alberta Hospital, Mazankowski Alberta Heart Institute and Kaye Edmonton Clinic; Associate Zone Medical Director, Alberta Health Services

Edmonton, AB


Dr. Andrew Travers

Provincial Medical Director, Emergency Health Services, Department of Health and Wellness, Nova Scotia; Staff Physician, Department of Emergency Medicine,  Nova Scotia Health Authority; Professor, Faculties of Medicine and Community Health and Epidemiology, Dalhousie University

Halifax, NS


Dr. Dick Zoutman

Chief of Staff & Medical Affairs, Quinte Health Care; Attending Physician in Infectious Diseases & in Medical Microbiology; Professor, Pathology & Molecular Medicine (Medical Microbiology), Medicine (Infectious Diseases), Public Health Sciences and of Nursing, Queen’s University

Kingston, ON